Tuesday, September 11, 2007

Awww bless...



Watched the extras on the HP DVD last night. The conversation with the cast is really cute. Daniel is so turning into Elijah Wood! Everything about him reminds me of Lighe! Emma Watson used to annoy me a bit, but she's such a lovely girl. Stunningly beautiful at 16 - sickening! LOL. I can't wait for the next movie!! I had planned to watch Hotel Rwanda, but by the time I had finished chatting to Carol it had already started, so got HP out instead. Well done to Leeds last night. Not really that bothered who comes up next year, but I do always think of Leeds as a Premiership club! Seems weird them being in the Championship. Frances's hubby is in a foul mood apparently - he's from Preston. From what I hear the ref had a shocker! Jose made a good point the other day. Players and managers have to come out after games to speak to the press, why don't the refs? It would be interesting to hear why they make certain decisions, and it would be benefit the refs too - putting their side of things over. It will never happen though!And well done to Jose for winning Manager of the Season again! Hurrah! That was a real shocker, didn't think he'd get it this year. I personally think he deserves it for the amount of crap he has to put with from our press and still managing to steer us to our seconf title in two years! But, I didn't think they would give him anything because just about everyone is an ABC (anyone but Chelsea) these days! Mind you, Paul Jewell and Alan Pardew have had fabulous seasons. Great to see two of the three promoted sides get to cup finals and finish mid table. I heard today that Fergie has had another falling out with Ronaldo today, so he probably won't get to play in Keane's testimonial tonight. I can't decide if I feel sorry for Ronaldo or think he's an idiot! He didn't seem to have too many friends among the Utd squad when they came out to warm up at the Bridge. While everyone else paired up he was left to kick the ball about on his own. I think if he didn't act like such a tart I'd probably really like him! Or if he put on a blue shirt that had Samsung across the front. LOL. I was going through some entry lists this morning with Andy and I pointed out that (Bob) Shearer and (Simon) Owen were playing at the AIB Irish Seniors Open. He said it was a shame we don't have a Rooney. Anyway, Andy told me to tell Steven to use that in a headline for any pre-event press stuff - "Shearer and Owen fit to play". LOL.

Monday, August 27, 2007

World Cup Squad announced...



Well, a few surprises then!Goalkeepers: Robinson, James, GreenDefenders: Terry (hurrah!), G Neville, Ferdinand, A Cole, Campbell, Carragher, Bridge Midfielders: Beckham, Carrick, Lampard, Gerrard, Hargreaves, Jenas, Downing, J Cole, LennonForwards: Rooney, Owen, Crouch, WalcottI don't think our forwards are going to strike fear into the hearts of the worldwide defenders! Two with gammy legs, one who is too gangly for words and the other one that, although a great talent in the Championship, has not come up against the world's best before. Not sure about the whole Walcott thing! I mean, what about the top English scorer in the Premiership, Darren Bent?! And poor old SWP! But at least Bridgey's loan spell at Fulham did the trick! I'm surprised that Bent and SWP didn't even make the stand by list. Only one right back, but I guess Carragher could fill that role if Neville were to get injured. No real surprises with the defenders. I would have liked to see Luke Young there, but he is a stand by. I'm thinking that Gerrard or Lampard could be pushed up a bit to play behind Owen (if fit and Rooney isn't) with Carrick in the holding role. Just hope Lamps and Stevie take their scoring boots! Mind you, crazy Joe isn't goal shy! Fingers crossed that Walcott proves me wrong and ends up being the hero of the World Cup!

Sunday, August 26, 2007

Grrrrr...



Well, I had about 10 minutes sleep last night. I watched Hostage as planned, quite enjoyed it. But everytime Bruce Willis referred to "the guy" I couldn't help thinking of Elijah in Spy Kids 3! Then I watched Football First so I could see just how dire our performance was. A few dodgy decisions went against us again, but we should have finished with a win over the toon! But I'm pleased for Glenn Roeder - hope he does get the nod to stay on there. And it's sad to think that Shearer will never play again. I love Alan! Pleased I got to see him play one last time this season. I was also pleased he was on the losing side that night though! One thing about the game yesterday that made me chuckle was seeing Jimmy Smith get a game. A couple of weeks ago he turned up with Lenny and they were trying to go pitchside before the game. They were stopped and although Lenny was allowed over, Jimmy was turned away! Poor lamb! And there he was yesterday, getting his first team debut! Looks like he could be a pretty useful player in the future. Would be nice for another young English boy to come through.Anyway, after the footie I went to bed, but couldn't get to sleep for hours! When I finally got to sleep, I was woken up shortly after by a thunderstorm! Pah! So, got up this morning with a bit of a headache and in a foul mood! Grumped my way through the first couple of hours of the day, before getting sufficient caffeine inside of me! And something else that amused me...Spurs favourite chef...Tremendous! I new it would happen, but still very funny! Poor old Spurs!So, England squad is announced in just over an hour. Very exciting! Not sure I'm keen on the idea of Theo Walcott going to Germany. A great young talent he might be, but I don't think now is the time for him to be tried out as an England International! We need our experienced players! Mind you, I'd prefer him to Heskey! I'd prefer Bobby Charlton to Heskey!!!

Wednesday, August 8, 2007

And rest...



Well, had a very productive day. Mum gave me a huge bag full of my summer clothes yeterday, so I decided I would sort through my wardrobe, drawers and airing cupboard to put away the winter clothes to make room for summer! So I have been washing and ironing practically all day! The last day of the premiership then - I was flicking between the Man Utd v Charlton game and the Arsenal v Wigan game. I was hoping that Tottenham would finish 4th, but I guess at least this way they don't spend the next week and a half looking for to CL next year only to have it taken away if Arsenal win the final! I was pleased Man Utd clinched 2nd place - sorryveegogirl! As for our result - well, at least we didn't need the points!I don't know what I'm going to do with myself now the season is over! I'm really going to miss the Bridge during the summer! It's been a fab season. Hopefully next year will be just as good. Not sure if we'll get a third Premiership title in a row, but you never know. I wonder who will be brought in and who will be leaving. Looks certain to be Del Horno going - boo! But Wayne should be coming back - hurrah! I think the title race could be a lot closer next year as long as Arsenal, Man Utd and Liverpool continue the good form they all ended the season in! And let's hope we get back on track nice and early again! Arsenal's goodbye to Highbury was pretty good, very moving. I'm glad that I got to see a game there, despite not really loving the Gunners a whole lot! But it was a nice ground, very friendly atmosphere. I was well looked after when I went there. I was ill due to the old neck (not that I knew that was what it was at the time) and a very kind steward moved Danny I from the very back row to seats right down by the pitch and brought me water too! Lovely! There was a good interview with JT in the Guardian today. dapooh might be interested in it... http://observer.guardian.co.uk/osm/story/0,,1766464,00.htmlI watched Assault on Precinct 13 last night. Loved it! Got a bit of a thing about Ethan Hawke at the moment. I finally saw Taking Lives a couple of weeks back and loved that too!Finally sat down to relax in time to watch Dream Team tonight - still can't believe they killed off Casper!Anyhoo, Hostage is on Sky now, so I think I'll go watch that.oooh loving the new icon - made by saint_kat

Been there, done that...



Well, here's something I've been thinking about doing for quite a while now. Looking back on my life (how old do I sound?!) I've realised I've done things that some people only dream about doing. But at the same time, there are still so many things I want to do, places I want to visit. So, I thought I'd write down all the things I've done that, when I look back, I'll realise just how great I've made my life! Or something like that! And I'm also going to list all the places I still want to go and the things I still want to do, so I can cross them off as I fulfill those ambitions and add them to the achieved list! So, here goes with the first list, I'll keep popping back with more when I have time and when I think of any!BEEN THERE, DONE THAT...Countries visited (including just passing through):Australia - SydneyAustriaBahamasBelgiumCanadaCyprusEgyptEnglandFranceGermanyGreece - Athens, Kos, ZakynthosGuernseyIcelandIrelandItalyJerseyLuxembourgNew ZealandNorthern IrelandScotlandSingaporeSpain - Grand Canaria, Mallorca, TenerifeSwitzerlandUSA - Florida (Orlando & Miami), New York, Los Angeles, Las Vegas. WalesThings I've done in foreign lands:Australia:Climbed Sydney Harbour BridgeHad a tour of Sydney on the back of a Harley DavidsonTour of the Sydney Opera HouseSydney Olympic Park - Did the tour of the Telstra Stadium, sat in the cubicle used by Jonny Wilkinson when we won the rugby World CupBahamas:Flew there from Miami for the night - cruise ship backCanada:Jeep JamboreeEgypt:Slept out under the stars in the desert at a Bedouin CampFrance:Climbed the Eiffel TowerDisneylandSaw Eminem in concertIceland:Rode an Icelandic horseVisited the original geyserBlue Lagoon - massage includedItaly:Visited VeniceNew Zealand:Visited several of the LOTR film sites:Pelennor Fields, Edoras, the cliff(!) that Aragorn was dragged off, Rivendell, Gardens of Isen, Hobbiton, get off the road!Visited the glow worm caves in WaitomoPolynesian Spa - massage includedSaw a real Maouri concert - the haka!The luge!Did the Skyjump - Auckland Sky TowerSingapore:Had a Singapore Sling atRaffles HotelUSA:The fountains at the Bellagio!Disneyworld Florida and Disneyland CaliforniaIn Hollywood for the Oscars - went to the LOTR Oscar partydown the road from where the oscars were being held. Oscar winners came to the party after the ceremony.In Hollywood for the Premiere of Blade Trinity and Ocean's Twelve - saw the whole cast!Did the Kodak Theatre tour - got to go up on stageWent up the Empire State BuildingVisited Ground ZeroLiberty Island - up to the pedestal of the statueWalked on ConcordeSporting Events I've experienced:Chelsea win the Premiership!Chelsea be presented with the Premiership trophyChelsea play BarcelonaAll of Chelsea's home game (except one) in all competitions 2005-2006 seasonThe Ryder Cup 2002The Open Championship 2001The PGA Championship, 200, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004The BMW Championship 2005Several other golf tournaments including the World Match Play, The Senior Masters, the B&H InternationalMany, many Brentford games! Including games against Tottenham, Sunderland and CharltonMany England International fixtures (qualifiers and friendlies)Football Stadiums visited:Stamford Bridge, Griffin Park, White Hart Lane, Highbury, The Valley, The Friend's Provident at St Mary's, Old Trafford and Wembley.

Sunday, July 29, 2007

A day of traumas!



Well, what a day. It took me two, yes that's TWO hours to get over to the east end. Traffic was horrendous and I think it was national let you idiot drive day today. I don't understand why it takes people so long to pull away from traffic lights!! Or why they start slowing down when they approach green traffic lights! Or how some people drive so slowly! Anyhoo, I eventually met Mum and Nan in Asda and I spent a fortune - not one to go hungry! Also bought some t-shirts and stuff! Then when we were packing up the cars, there was an almighty bang - two cars had collided. As I looked round I could see the smoke from the airbags. The noise and the smoke brought back all the memories of my crash and I started to lose it a bit. It's so weird to think how quickly it all comes back, I thought I was totally over it. Luckily the people in the two cars got out and seemed to be okay. Bet it shook them up though! My mum was saying she couldn't believe how loud the bang was - it's a sound that I couldn't get out of my head for months after my crash. We headed back to Nan's for a bit and then Mum and I walked down Crisp Street to get some saveloys and pease pudding - yum! Not had it in years! Then it was back in the car for another two bloody hours to get home! Apparently there was some mechanical elephant being taken around the streets of London, so there were loads of road closures. Why?! Why would you build a mechanical elephant? And why would you drag it round London?! Could they not have waited until tomorrow? Who makes these decisions?! And the journey home was made slightly worse by the football scores. Brentford were 1-0 up when I set off. Then Bournemouth equalised. Then Andy Frampton put us back in front. Then they had a player sent off. And then they scored in th 91st minute! It didn't matter in the end, as Colchester drew at Yeovil. I really hoped Paul Terry's team would have done the business, but it would have been worse if Yeovil had won and we had drawn! So, it's the play offs again. My trip to Cardiff is once again a possibility. But we've got to get pass the curse of third place. Third place never gets promoted! We're playing Swansea in the semi's, first leg on Thursday. I'll miss the 2nd leg - it's the day of the parade. Booger! I wonder if the folks will be back from Italy by then. It's honours even between us and Swansea this year. We won 2-1 at home and so did they. Ah well, fingers crossed! And apparently the News of the World is going to publish some big news about one of the main England players tomorrow. Typical. That's all it's going to be until the World Cup - digging up stuff on the squad. The English press couldn't possibly just get behind the squad and support them!Pah!

Wednesday, July 25, 2007

Random thoughts...



So, Rooney's foot is still broken. He's still out for at least 6 weeks. Fergie is still doing his best to get "the boy" to Germany. And Sven is still going to name him in the squad. We know! Does it have to be on every news?! Please tell me it's not going to be like this for 6 weeks! And all the "woe is us, that's our World Cup over" talk is doing my head in! We're not a one man team! Sure, he's a great player (even though it pains me to say it!) and yes it would be great to have him fully fit and in the squad. But basically what everyone (media etc) is saying is that all we need to beat the best players in the world, is Wayne Rooney in our team. So, how come the team that he plays for, week in week out, hasn't won the Premiership, the FA Cup and the Champions League? And here was me thinking football was a team sport! Yes, he is a fantastic talent, and he can score great goals. But look at the Premiership's top scorers for this year...Darren Bent has scored more goals than Rooney! Look at the team that won the Premiership - who is their top scorer? Lampard. Is he not in the England squad? And then there is the team currently 3rd in the league - Their top scorer? - Gerrard has scored 10 this season. English is he not? If we had a weak squad with one talent, I'd be more inclined to panic. But we have one of the best squads we have had in years! We've got the best defender in the world (JT!), and our midfield is unbelievable. Whether Gerrard is pushed up a bit, or maybe Lamps or Cole, stick either Ledley King or Michael Carrick in the holding role (whoever is fit, both can do the job). We could go on for hours talking about the amazing players we have in our squad, but it's not the English thing to do, is it? Far better to look at the bad side of things, rubbish our chances before a ball is kicked. I wish our media would get behind the team, let the other players in the squad know that we believe in them, in their talent, and that they AS A TEAM can bring us back the World Cup. Makes me mad! But thank God JT's scan came back clear - now that would have been the end of our World Cup if he couldn't play! ;-) The whole country will probably be hoping Owen doesn't have to play on Sunday in case our nasty defenders hack him down too. Poor old Paulo - it wasn't his fault! What else has been happening lately? Went out for drinks in Hammersmith last night with Raz and Jane. We decided it was too nice an evening to be home indoors, so we sat by the river drinking and putting the world to rights. Raz still can't answer the all important question of "how many times have Liverpool won the PREMIERSHIP". LOL. The change in name made all the difference!!!! Glad the weekend is with us once more. Off to do the family thing in the east end tomorrow, not sure what the rest of the weekend holds. I can't believe the footie season ends on Sunday! Well, FA Cup, CL and play offs aside. I might see if the gang from Chelsea want to watch the two finals in a pub somewhere. I'm sure I can find some claret and blue for the FA Cup. C'mon you Hammers!! Got to go with the London side - and it's my mum's team! Not sure about the CL final. Part of me wants Barca to win, because they knocked us out - always better to go out to the eventual winners. And I don't want Arsenal beating us to the trophy! Mind you, we did beat them to back to back titles! But, again, feeling the whole London thing. And it is Danny's team. But I do hate Wenger! Anyway, enough drivel - it's time for dinner...